Bible icon Business icon Communication icon Education icon Languages icon Fine arts icon History icon International studies icon Nursing icon Social sciences icon Biology & environmental science icon Chemistry icon Criminal justice icon Engineering icon Exercise science icon Forensics icon Bachelor's to master's icon Math & computer science icon Professional preparation icon Undergraduate minors icon Email icon Facebook icon Twitter icon LinkedIn icon Apple icon Calendar icon Diploma icon Piggy bank icon Students icon
Campus News

eHIVE announces Something From Nothing Innovation Challenge winners

Rachel Pellegrino Oct 16, 2020

The third annual “Something From Nothing” Innovation Challenge hosted by the eHIVE, Waynesburg University’s Entrepreneurial Hub for Innovative Ventures and Endeavors, concluded Wednesday, Oct. 7, with the closing of the fan favorite voting.

The competition challenged students to create a repurposed or up-cycled innovation using a maximum of five different materials.

“This year’s challenge was extremely successful. Each year I am impressed by the quality of the ideas and this year’s challenge was no exception,” said Melinda Walls, the W. Robert Stover Chair of Entrepreneurial Leadership and director of the Entrepreneurial Leadership Program. “The number of entries was the highest yet, and we had 600 votes cast for our fan favorite competition - this was over twice the votes cast last year.”

The weeklong challenge lasted from Sept. 17 through 24. Finalists were announced Thursday, Oct. 1, and fan favorite voting opened for one week.

The winners included both Waynesburg University and Greene County high school students:


  • First: Sam Harmon
  • Second: Morgan Barnes
  • Fan Favorite: Sam Harmon


  • First: Heather Walker, Samantha Barlow and Olivia Foust
  • Second: Corey Fischer and Hunter Curran
  • Third: Jacob Nicholas, Jansen Knotts, Brooklynn Laymon and Alex Young
  • Fan Favorite: Heather Walker, Samantha Barlow and Olivia Foust


  • First: Grace Zablosky
  • Second: Emma Herrle
  • Third: Briston Bennett
  • Fan Favorite: Adam Huckestein, Michael Choconta, Zack Boslet and Peter Downer


  • Fan Favorite: Nicholas Schnepp, Cory Cox and Marc Boczar

Each team and sponsoring organization were awarded a monetary prize of varying amounts depending on their place. First place of each category and the fan favorite winners received $100 per team member, second place received $75 per team member and third place and the honorable mention received $50 per team member. 

For more information, contact the eHIVE at