Bible icon Business icon Communication icon Education icon Languages icon Fine arts icon History icon International studies icon Nursing icon Social sciences icon Biology & environmental science icon Chemistry icon Criminal justice icon Engineering icon Exercise science icon Forensics icon Bachelor's to master's icon Math & computer science icon Professional preparation icon Undergraduate minors icon Email icon Facebook icon Twitter icon LinkedIn icon Apple icon Calendar icon Diploma icon Piggy bank icon Students icon

Commencement 2022

Congratulations to the Class of 2022!

Purchase Photos Online

now available!

Looking for the perfect commencement photo? Check out our online store to view and purchase photos. Proceeds benefit our Faith, Learning and Service Immersion Trips.

Commencement 2022

Waynesburg University honored the Class of 2022 during Commencement Exercises on Saturday, April 30, and Sunday, May 1, on the Lawn of Miller Hall, honoring more than 400 undergraduate, graduate and doctoral students.

The Honorable D. Brooks Smith, Senior Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, and Laural Ziemba, Director of Public Affairs at Range Resources, addressed the Class of 2022 as the Commencement speakers, and Marilyn West, Owner and Chief Executive Officer of M.H. West and Co., served as the Baccalaureate speaker.

Read more

2022 Valedictorians

The following graduates were named valedictorians:

  • Kenneth Cairns III, a criminal justice administration graduate from North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
  • Sophie Kipe, an early childhood education graduate from Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
  • Rachel Pellegrino, a communication (electronic media) graduate from Yardley, Pennsylvania

Pellegrino delivered the valedictory to the Class of 2022.

"Just like you've conquered Waynesburg's challenges and many many (many) hills, approach this next journey with perseverance, dedication and an unwavering will to succeed and shine your light," Pellegrino shared.

Douglas G. and Kathryn D. Lee Servant Leadership Award

Alyson Nichole Johnson, an athletic training graduate from Raceland, Kentucky, was awarded the 2022 Douglas G. and Kathryn D. Lee Servant Leadership Award. This award was established by the Waynesburg University Board of Trustees to honor the leadership and commitment of Douglas and Kathryn Lee to the University. It is awarded each year to one graduating student who has demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities over the course of their time at Waynesburg University in the mission focus areas of faith, learning and serving.

More about the award


Connect and Share on Social


View our photo albums from the various Commencement ceremonies.


Share your photos with us by using #seewulater.

Instagram Story

Relive some of the best moments from the weekend!