Bible icon Business icon Communication icon Education icon Languages icon Fine arts icon History icon International studies icon Nursing icon Social sciences icon Biology & environmental science icon Chemistry icon Criminal justice icon Engineering icon Exercise science icon Forensics icon Bachelor's to master's icon Math & computer science icon Professional preparation icon Undergraduate minors icon Email icon Facebook icon Twitter icon LinkedIn icon Apple icon Calendar icon Diploma icon Piggy bank icon Students icon

University Student Prizes and Awards

  • The James E. Garvin, 1886 and Caroline Parkinson Garvin, ex 1894, Prize in Humanities was established by their sons, Dr. John Day Garvin and Dr. Robert O. Garvin. The award is made annually to that member of the junior class who has attained the greatest distinction in English.
  • The Vira I. Heinz Scholarship for summer study abroad is awarded annually to a junior woman student. The stipend is provided through the generosity of Mrs. Heinz.
  • The Boris Ivezic Prize in Economics is awarded to the outstanding junior student (rising senior) studying economics. This $300 prize is funded by Mrs. Liliana Ivezic to honor her husband’s twenty-two years of teaching economics at the University and is to be used for purchasing textbooks.
  • The Chauncy C. Lively and Grace K. Lively Psychology Award is made possible through an endowment established by the Lively family in memory of Chauncy C. Lively and his wife, Grace K. Lively. Dr. Lively was chairman of the psychology department at Waynesburg University from 1928 until his death in 1949. He had also served as Academic Dean from 1929 to 1939. This award is to be given annually to the highest ranking member of the junior class majoring in the field of psychology.
  • The Ronald E. and Judith A. Montgomery Excellence in Nursing Scholarship is intended to encourage students majoring in nursing to academic excellence. The recipient must exhibit strong credentials in academics, leadership, community service, and continually strive to represent the Waynesburg University Philosophy of Nursing. Each year one eligible junior level nursing student will be selected to receive the scholarship. This scholarship will be applied to their senior year tuition.
  • The Dr. Janet A. Paladino Environmental Science Annual Award was created in 2020 by Waynesburg University Professor Environmental Science, Dr. Janet A. Paladino.  Dr. Paladino created this award with the hope of inspiring students to academic excellence.
  • The James D. South Memorial Prize was funded by a bequest from Mr. South 1935, a career educator. His Will directed that the endowment income be used for an annual award to the outstanding student in the field of history or political science as determined by the faculty.
  • The Stover Nursing Award was established through the generosity of Waynesburg University trustee, W. Robert Stover, 1942. A junior nursing student is chosen by the nursing faculty based on strong credentials in academic, leadership, and community service. The awardee must also exhibit the caring attitude inherent in the Waynesburg University philosophy of nursing.
  • The PICPA (Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants) Senior Award honors the outstanding accounting student selected by the faculty on the basis of intellectual capacity and qualities of leadership. Each winner will also receive a small replica of the plaque.
  • The Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh awards a cash prize and a certificate of achievement to an outstanding graduating senior chosen by the University chemistry faculty. Recipients are selected based on grade point average, chemistry related activities, and other honors, awards and activities. SACP also makes a gift to the University for a library book placed in honor of the recipient.
  • The American Institute of Chemists Foundation awards a certificate of achievement and a year’s membership in AIC to an outstanding senior majoring in chemistry. Candidates are chosen and nominated by their faculty members.